NO NEW TEETH!

I am six years old and I haven’t lost any teeth yet. Everyone at school has lost theirs, but I don’t want to. I’m not scared or anything, that’s for babies, I just like my teeth the way they are. When the other kids lose their teeth they look silly, and they can’t eat any food. I’ve decided that I will just keep mine, thank you very much!

I have a best friend at school, her name is Molly Harris. She is super cool, and she agrees with me. We have both agreed that neither of us are going to lose our teeth. We pinky swore! Do you know what happens if you break a pinky swear? Your tongue turns green, your elbows lock straight, and your eyes go permanently crossed. So you can bet that no kid ever will break that promise. 

Billy Thompson just lost one of his teeth, and now he goes grinning like a goof, and sticking his tongue through the hole. Sheesh, if he could only see himself! He even brought his old tooth to school in a little green box shaped like a tooth. He will walk up to a kid, with his hands behind his back. Then he pops the box open in their face, and shows them his grey tooth and says, “Want a tooth? Too bad! HAHAHAHA” Then he runs and does it to another kid. 

For career day Finn’s dad, Dr. Turner DDDDDDDS. (there were a lot of D’s, he must not have been a very good Dentist), came into the classrom and told us all about our teeth. He talked about how everyone loses their teeth. I grabbed Molly’s hand and we loooked at each other, both determined we would be different. He gave everyone a toothbrush and toothpaste though, which was nice. The toothpaste tasted like cinnamon, my favorite! I raised my hand and said, “I brush my teeth every night, AND every morning. I also use a special rinse.” Dr. Turner smiled at me and said, “It sounds like you are quite the expert, maybe you should be a dentist!” 

The next week a terrible thing happened! I went to school, and Molly wasn’t there. After school I called her house, and her mother said that she had had a dentist appointment that day. “I know all about dentists,” I say, “Dr. Turner practically offered me a job, but I told him I’d have to wait until I had passed third grade at least. How did Molly’s appointment go anyway?” Her mother chuckled which is so strange. Adults always do that at the strangest times, “She is fine, she had a big cavity so they had to pull a tooth. She’ll be back at school in the morning.” I was shocked and amazed! How could my best friend forever betray me like this! Didn’t she know the consequences! I hung up the phone, completely heartbroken. How would we play “Miss Mary Mack” if her elbows were locked? Still I was a little curious, I’d never known anyone who broke a pinky swear before. Maybe I’d be the coolest kid in school because I was the only one with a best friend who had a green tongue!

The next day I was ready to see Molly, I promised myself I wouldn’t be mad. After all she was going to need a good friend to support her through this. She got out of her mothers car, the first thing I noticed was that her eyes were certainly not crossed. She skipped lightly towards me and held up two shiny silver quarters! When she smiled there was a big hole where her top tooth should be. “What is that for?” I asked. “The tooth faiwy came lath-t night, and bwought me thith.” She lisped. The TOOTH FAIRY! How come I’d never heard of this before?!? Now all bets were off, she had broken a pinky swear and survived unscathed, and gotten paid for it! I needed to lose a tooth and quick! The problem was that my teeth weren’t moving!

I waited a week, and a month but nothing happened. I became a little reckless. I tied a string around my front teeth and the doornob. Then I slammed it shut. The door yanked me so hard that I fell head first on the floor. I had a rotton goose egg for a week. I went to the dentist, no cavitied teeth to pull. I got hit in the mouth with a dodgeball, no luck. It was hopeless. I really would never lose a tooth. 

It was my birthday, and a week before school started. I was excited to have all my friends at my party. My parents had bought a beautiful cake, and a pinata stuffed with lovely candy. All my friends were there. I got to go first, I was the birthday girl after all. No luck. All the kids got a turn to hit. It was Billy’s turn to hit, he got the mask on, and they twisted him around five times. He took a few steps forward, and WHAK! Hit me square in the kisser. I was a mass of blood and tears. When I looked in the mirror my two front teeth were dangling precariously from my mouth! I grabbed them and yanked. There they were in my hand, the most perfect pearls of potential I had ever seen. Billy had done it at last! I stuck my tongue through the hole, and my gums felt soft and gummy. It made me giggle to feel it. 

When I came outside again Billy looked really sorry. I ran up and gave him a big hug. “THANKS BILLY!” His face split in a wicked grin, which he directed to his mom, who must have been lecturing him. Then I said, “Thith ith the betht birthday ever!” 

 

This entry was posted in Amazing Apprentices, 8-10 years, Exhuberant Early Schoolers, 4-7 years, Terrorific Toddlers, 1-3 years. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NO NEW TEETH!

  1. laura says:

    love it, especially when it says, all bets are off.. so funny

Leave a Reply

